Northeast US States Sign MoU to Enhance Interregional Transmission Planning

Ten Northeastern states have entered into a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to establish a framework aimed at enhancing interregional transmission planning and development.

Spanning across three planning regions, the participating states include Connecticut, , Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, , , and .

The MoU follows a joint initiative led by these states, urging the US Department of Energy to support the Northeast States Collaborative on Interregional Transmission. This groundbreaking multi-state effort signifies a concerted push towards coordinated infrastructure development and information sharing among the states.

Key objectives outlined in the MoU include the formulation of a strategic action plan to promote interregional transmission projects, particularly for wind.

This plan includes identifying barriers to project implementation and proposing solutions. Additionally, the states plan to harmonize technical standards for offshore wind transmission equipment.

Proponents of the collaboration argue that strengthening transmission connections between regions will bolster grid reliability during extreme weather events, facilitate the transition to cleaner energy sources, and potentially lower energy costs for consumers by expanding access to competitively priced electricity.


Related Articles

Popular Categories